top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Staudinger

Automata Project: Inspiration and Initial Ideas


When I first heard about the project when it was released, I thought of a teacup. Specifically, I thought about the spinning teacup ride that you see at Disneyland. When I was young while at Disneyland with my parents, it was our favorite ride to go on. With this childhood memory, I wanted to recreate it.


While looking at mechanisms, I knew for the spinning teacup that there should be two circular cams to produce a smooth round motion. In particular, having the two circular motions perpendicular will allow for it to do so. In addition to the teacup, I wanted to make a teapot, specifically one that goes up and down. The mechanism for the teapot will be either an eccentric or offset cam snail cam or oval cam.


In addition, I wanted the theme of the mechanism to be floral and fall. The reason for this design is that when one thinks of tea, one thinks of dried leaves and flowers. Hence, I wanted my handmade object to involve flower-pressing.


Inspiration Videos:




1 view0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page