top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Staudinger

Emotive Project: Initial Designs


When the emotive project came out, my first thought was to do something with the concept of duality. In particular, I was thinking of having something that changes completely when sense something, thus symbolizing duality. Thinking about what I want to represent, it came into mind my mix-racial identity - Wasian, so to speak. The duality between my racial identity of white and Asian has always been in tension with one another, often leading me to code-switch between the two dependent on the community I interact with. I wanted to represent this tension through this emotive project.


I drew on inspiration from the internet of how duality is represented: I enjoyed the idea of two similar-looking humans but with one different aspect. For example, the picture in the middle represents two people, but one faces toward the camera, and the other faces away from the camera. In drawing inspiration, I wanted to replicate such a look in my final project.


In particular, my default side is my white side, and the side that gets triggered when the sense is my Asian side. In addition, I added a yellow LED to further symbolize the switch: when the LED is off, it is my white side. and when the LED is on, it is my Asian side. My initial sketch can be seen on the left.

3 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page