top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Staudinger

Project 1: Assembly

The intended idea of making my music book was to make a secret book with the piano CAD hidden inside the book. Here is an example I attempted to follow: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vFUgYzQfpqo


However, during the process, cutting the individual pages (of a book with 1500 pages) becomes not only tedious but also inconsistent. Some page cuttings will be slightly bigger than others, and even some pages will completely rip due to human error. Moreover, after about 4 hours of cutting, I was only able to cut about 500 pages. Consequently, I decided to redesign the assembly process.

Ultimately, I decided to scratch the idea of drilling the keyboard through the backboard of the book. Instead, I precisely cut the pages in such a way that the CAD keyboard is fit snugged into the pages of the book. With the addition of some hot glue and glue sticks, I was able to connect the two. This was an example of me rethinking the manufacturing process and redesigning on my feet, especially given I only have one book working with.


In the end, it came out how I was expecting. I wanted the piano keyboard to "emerge" from the book in an unexpected way. The piano keyboard flips the concept of a simple book as a "magical book".

Things I would Do Differently

Given the complexity of the assembly process, I would have made the CAD keyboard smaller in thickness (current thickness is inch and a half) in order to make the cutting process easier in the book. Moreover, I would love to CNC the page cutouts instead of hand-cutting, thus allowing consistency from page to page.

10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page