top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Staudinger

Project 1: Rethinking the Found Object

I was inspired by a book that I obtained from a book award. Entitled Barlett's Familiar Quotations, the book is a collection of famous quotes - ranging from Aristotle to Albert Einstein to Lady Gaga. Yet, despite such familiar quotations, not a single quote reference is a musical piece - although music is often what can be stuck in people's minds and thus become unconsciously familiar. For instance, do you ever get a song stuck in your head but forget what the song is called? Hence, I knew I wanted to incorporate this book with a CAD keyboard to recreate this feeling via art. Specifically, I want to convey that music is the greatest familiar quotation.


Book as Now the Found Object



Particularly, I thought of creating a "hidden book" with the piano as the hidden within the book. Here are some inspiration photos from the internet.




3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page