top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Staudinger

Prototyping the Photoresistor


We wanted a light sensor to trigger the movement of the flowers and its mechanism, and it was my job to figure out the sensor type. Here is the list of light sensors I looked into:

1.Light Sensor Grove Model

2. Arduino photoresistor

3. Arduino BH1750 Ambient Light Sensor


After presenting the three light sensors to my team, we collectively decided on the arduino photoresitor given the small compact design (as we were hoping to hide the sensor in the final piece).


When making the first breadboard, I thought about putting 2 photoresistos to ensure in case if one photoresistor has an outlier reading. In doing so, in the code, I made the two sensor values into an average sensor value variable. However, after some thinking and testing, I found that photoresistor was fairly accurate and doesn't jump up or down to random outliers at unexpected times. Thus so, I found it redundant to have 2 photoresistors.


In the middle breadboard, I implemented just one photoresistor, in which the code will read the value and if the value is a certain treshold, the mechanism will start to move. This design is compact and can be easily implemented into the final project.

1 view0 comments

コメント


bottom of page